top of page

Overcoming Inhibitions


I used to really worry over how other people would "see" me. In that, I would only try to write G rated books with very little "umph" for lack of a better term.

When you want to be a writer, you need to first know what you want to write and then you need to not worry about what other people may think of you.

After all, no one can please everyone, no matter how hard you try. I had my biggest problem writing romance scenes. I am kind of a prude, and do not speak of that kind of behavior. It should stay in the bedroom, not in the storefront.

However, I like romance books. They keep me interested in both the adventure and mystery as well as the steamy scenes between two people. What I had to do was practice. My first book has some "love scenes" in it but they are very PG-13. Now my stories include a bit more spice, but they are not raunchy.

As much as I like writing these stories, I will be looking to branch out. My advice to you is, if you want to be a writer, do what you do, practice your art, and do not fret over what other people may have to say to you, or what they might think of you.

There is something for everyone. Maybe your writing will be just what a reader is looking for!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page