top of page

Do you Know what you Know?

Writing is fun, it is engaging and it is time consuming.

I've advised you to write what you know. Sure. Good advice, but what is it that you know?

I would suggest that you begin by knowing what you like. If you like action/adventure movies, stories, books, magazines, and comics, then that is what you know.

After you determine what it is you know, do your research. Read other authors' stories, read magazines and comics, watch television shows and movies that apply to that which you want to learn more about.

Those who have done before you are a great starting point. I keep a notebook near me. If something is said or something is done that I think I can put into a book, I write it down.

Now, of course, I am not encouraging plagiarism. That is wrong, illegal, and not even remotely creative. What I am suggesting and encouraging is for you to take whatever the thought the other story's content sparked within you and start from there.

I have literally over 40 different story lines in one-liner notes in my notebook. I do not follow any form of chronology in writing my books based upon what is in my idea notes, but if something charges through my brain, it is best to have some kind of reminder of where your brain was trying to go with your idea.

So, research what you know to know what you know will help you to know what you should write about.

Happy creating!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page